Biden Goes WAY Off Message

April 30, 2009

From the Boston Globe:

“On NBC’s ‘Today’ show this morning, Biden suggested that flying commercial airliners isn’t a good idea.

‘I would tell members of my family — and I have — I wouldn’t go anywhere in confined places now,’ he said, saying that the problem is that ‘when one person sneezes it goes all the way through the aircraft.’

‘If you’re out in the middle of a field and someone sneezes, that’s one thing. If you’re in a closed aircraft or a closed container, a closed car, a closed classroom, it’s a different thing,’ he added.

His spokeswoman, Elizabeth Alexander, issued this clarification: ‘On the Today Show this morning the Vice President was asked what he would tell a family member who was considering air travel to Mexico this week. The advice he is giving family members is the same advice the administration is giving to all Americans: that they should avoid unnecessary air travel to and from Mexico. If they are sick, they should avoid airplanes and other confined public spaces, such as subways. This is the advice the Vice President has given family members who are traveling by commercial airline this week. As the President said just last night, every American should take the same steps you would take to prevent any other flu: keep your hands washed; cover your mouth when you cough; stay home from work if you’re sick; and keep your children home from school if they’re sick.’

Wow – I like how they walk this back. Biden was talking about flying TO MEXICO. Yeah, right.

I’m flying in 3 days. Thanks a lot, Joe Biden, for scaring the bejeezus out of me and ruining my flight. WTF??!!!!

Still, I think this whole swine flu business is greatly overhyped, but I’m also a total hypochondriac…

UPDATE: I just got the beginning of Biden’s comments: “It’s not just going to Mexico…” Yeah, sounds more and more like he was talking about flights to Mexico. Either Biden knows something the rest of us don’t (I wouldn’t count on it ) or he’s just being an idiot (probably the case). Still scares the living Christ out of me.

One Response to “Biden Goes WAY Off Message”

  1. I wonder what Obama thinks of crazy, old Joe. I also wonder what other folks are thinking in general about this swine flu. Will it affect YOUR life? You can weigh in with your thoughts at educlaytion.

Leave a Reply

